Question about 12-2

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-04-07, 08:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alexandria Virginia
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question about 12-2

I live in a condo that was built in 1940. I have an outlet that is wired with 12-2 coming from the crawl space. I was hoping to branch of that 12-2 in order to bring power to some other lights I am installing. My question is can I branch of the 12-2 wire with 14-2 wire? Thanks for any help anyway might provide.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-04-07, 08:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: (near) Boise, ID
Posts: 442
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would suggest sticking with the 12/2 wire. I don't imagine a huge price difference. With a 12/2 you may have a 20 amp circuit breaker. If there is any 14/2, you must only use a 15 amp breaker. I'm not an electrician though, this is just info I've gathered from other posts.
 
  #3  
Old 12-04-07, 08:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It would be very dangerous to use 14/2 unless you know things you don't know. So use 12/2.

If this is ungrounded cable (likely), then code does not allow you to extend it at all.
 
  #4  
Old 12-04-07, 08:44 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,965
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
You could only use 14/2 if you change the breaker to 15 amp but there is a risk that some else will see the 12/2 in the panel and change it back to a 20 amp thinking that it is safe. Stick with the same wire.
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-07, 07:04 PM
nagra4s's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 463
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is code... and what you would think would work. If these lights are are a combined 100 watts I would think you are ok. Going with a heavier gage wire is never a bad idea.
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-07, 08:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
nagra4s,

There is no provision in the code for wiring lights on a 20 amp circuit with 14 gage wire.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: