Can 3-way dimmer be used as single-pole switch?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-15-07, 07:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 157
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can 3-way dimmer be used as single-pole switch?

I have a Lutron DV-603P 3-way dimmer switch. The dimmer function is on a slider separate from the on/off function. It seems that it is possible to simply connect incoming power to the Common terminal and load power could come from either of the other two (red) leads. The remaining (3rd) wire would have no connection.

Of course that means that when the switch is flipped, the unattached 3rd wire would get energized. Since there are lots of energized wires in there anyway, on the surface it seems harmless to put a one-wire wire-nut on the 3rd wire and call it good.

Would this work? Would it be safe & to code?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-15-07, 09:11 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,065
Received 74 Votes on 66 Posts
It is fine (code) to use a single pole switch instead of a 3-way but you may not be able to get rid of the box of the unused 3-way easily. If you have both the hot and the switch leg in the box that you want the single pole then your in luck. If not, then you will have to do some rewiring and maybe just put a blank plate of the unused switch.
 
  #3  
Old 12-15-07, 09:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, you can use a three way switch (even a 3 way dimmer) in place of a regular switch. Place a wire nut over the unused wire.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: