Cable clamping dilemma

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-15-07, 09:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 157
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cable clamping dilemma

I am installing outdoor receptacles that have a surface-mount box. My understanding is that the indoor NM cable can just pass right thru a hole bored in the wood frame of the house w/o any conduit so long as I put silicone at top of box (I actually made a large rectangular outline of silicone around the rear entry hole described below).

So, how does one clamp the cable in the box?

This is not a standard J-box... it is a special outdoor surface mount box that has threaded openings instead of knock-outs. The box is to be mounted so that the rear hole is aligned with the bored hole passing the cable. Since the box is to be surface mounted, there is no room behind it for a standard NM clamp. Since the entry hole is about 1/2" threaded, a plastic snap-on 1/2" NM connector (at least the ones I have) don't fit; they rely on passing thru a thin walled j-box so the clips will not click in.

Hope this makes sense... and hope someone has a suggestion.

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-15-07, 09:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You buy and insert a cable clamp.
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-07, 01:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 157
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What sort of cable clamp? The standard ones I've seen will screw on the back OK, but then the part that holds the cable is fastened with screws and a bracing bar that will not fit in the hole in the wall behind the box. I would like to avoid making the hole in the wall so large as to accomodate the both the back of the clamp and the screws, so they would sit within the wall. Is this what is necessary?
 
  #4  
Old 12-16-07, 07:11 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, you screw it in INSIDE the box.

The threaded hole in the back runs all the way through it, use standard romex clamp just without the locknut.
 
  #5  
Old 12-16-07, 08:30 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,057
Received 73 Votes on 65 Posts
Originally Posted by DavidT View Post
What sort of cable clamp? The standard ones I've seen will screw on the back OK, but then the part that holds the cable is fastened with screws and a bracing bar that will not fit in the hole in the wall behind the box. I would like to avoid making the hole in the wall so large as to accommodate the both the back of the clamp and the screws, so they would sit within the wall. Is this what is necessary?
Yes, you need to make a big hole to accommodate the screws. Put the cable in the box, tighten the screws, goob sealant in hole and back of box. Attach to wall.
 
  #6  
Old 12-16-07, 11:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 157
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can do... of course not what I was hoping to hear.

Thanks for all the help. I just didn't want to miss out on any tricks of the trade for this problem.

By the way, one of the installations worked out such that I ended up with a wall thru-hole and then a channel in the wood about 1.5" long to the hole in the back of the box (which is to stay my hole "missed" ) It seems like a standard plastic two-nail cable staple placed across the cable in that channel just before the box opening secures the cable very well.

Is that OK as far as code and safety goes?

Originally Posted by burkej62 View Post
No, you screw it in INSIDE the box.

The threaded hole in the back runs all the way through it, use standard romex clamp just without the locknut.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: