12vdc marine fuse panel wiring help please

Old 12-22-07, 06:17 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question 12vdc marine fuse panel wiring help please

Hi newbie here. I have a 12vdc marine fuse panel/switched with a cigarette lighter and 2 switch battery tester. First I don't know if the black or red is hot and second it has two longer red wires coming from the batter tester switch and I am not sure where they go.

Also has extra fuse beside the lighter with red wire coming from it........where does it go.

Anyone know a link to all purpose dc wiring guide?

Old 12-22-07, 06:25 PM
R
The black wire is the ground, and the red wire is the 12 volt positive wire.

I do not understand what you mean by "2 switch battery tester." A tester usually has a positive and a negative terminal. Get them backwards and the meter goes the wrong way. A switch (unless it has a light or something else that needs power) has no concept of positive or negative.

Old 12-22-07, 09:40 PM
S