How many downstream Gfci's

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-18-08, 01:09 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How many downstream Gfci's

Did some adding ,rerouting and upgrading of receptacles and lighting ckts in my garage. I know the outlets in the garage must be GFCI protected, but how many recepts are permitted downstream from the "MASTER".

Added two dedicated 20 amp outlets for my power tools, separated the liighting and recepts that existed.Shame on the previous owner, there were never any GFCI's, and all 20 amp breakers wired with 14 /2, and 14/3.

the difficult to reach recepts I left on the #14 and swapped in a 15 amp breaker , Until I can get to it. A total of 5 circuits, 4 must be Gfci protected , due to the recept's.
Short of buying breakers for the 4 ckts, How many standard recepts are allowed downstream from a gfci recept.?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-18-08, 01:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is no limit in the US. In theory there is, but it is so high that you won't reach it.
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-08, 01:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,036
Received 113 Votes on 103 Posts
There is no limit.
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-08, 01:30 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys. at 40 bucks a pop, the breakers seemed a bit Overkill....
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-08, 01:37 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,983
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
The GFI protection can also be provided by a GFI receptacle wired to the first receptacle in the string. At about $12 a pop considereably cheaper than a GFI breaker.
 
  #6  
Old 01-18-08, 01:41 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,011
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AFAIK there is no limit on the number of receptacles that can be served by one GFCI receptacle, for example here are Lutron's GFCI receptacle installation instructions:

http://www.lutron.com/instructions/030410.pdf
 
  #7  
Old 01-18-08, 01:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is no limit on downstream from GFCI repectale but only one weak link it will affect Both GFCI breaker and GFCI repctale is the distance.

150-250 feet is about the max distance other wise it can do funny thing after that long run.

Merci, Marc
 
  #8  
Old 01-18-08, 01:56 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
While i'm thinking,

The garage subpanel is fed by a 50a dp in my main, would it be adviseable to swap the main for a 50a DP in gfci form?
 
  #9  
Old 01-18-08, 03:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
UncleDiezel :

If you allready have GFCI repectales or GFCI breaker[s] in the garage you dont need to use the 50A two pole GFCI breaker.

those item is not cheap at all and the other reason why i say not need it at all because if one of the GFCI repectle trip and it may trip the GFCI breaker as well so,, it pretty much used the common sense along the way.

Merci, Marc
 
  #10  
Old 01-18-08, 03:35 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you allready have GFCI repectales or GFCI breaker[s] in the garage you dont need to use the 50A two pole GFCI breaker.

those item is not cheap at all
Thank you Marc. No I didnt buy anything Yet. I never had GFCI in the garage, and a mess of other "Slapped together ' issues, that I "Wanted done right" without spending a small fortune.

Once again, the 'big box teens" told me I was only allowed 3 downstream recepts----and it just didnt sound right.

each of my "DEDS" will obviously have their own GFCI, the lighting , If I'm correct doesnt need it, and the rest of the outlets wll be protected by the first recept in the string being GFCI.
Thanks as always to all......
 
  #11  
Old 01-18-08, 04:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Unclediezel View Post
Once again, the 'big box teens" told me I was only allowed 3 downstream recepts----and it just didnt sound right.
I am not here to defend the big box, but sometimes local codes have somewhat arbitrary provisions banning certain things. Check out Section 9-511 here:

http://www.villageofshorewood.org/ve...89BF94D%7D.PDF

Drafted by an inspector, probably in response to one yahoo's work, reviewed by counsel who knows nothing about electricity or electric codes, and passed by a board that knows even less.
 
  #12  
Old 01-18-08, 04:31 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check out Section 9-511 here:

http://www.villageofshorewood.org/ve...89BF94D%7D.PDF

Drafted by an inspector, probably in response to one yahoo's work, reviewed by counsel who knows nothing about electricity or electric codes, and passed by a board that knows even less.
Are you kidding me???? Do these folks live in a bubble or something???
 
  #13  
Old 01-18-08, 06:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
Do you think this panel would pass muster?

 
  #14  
Old 01-18-08, 09:42 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,011
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ArgMeMatey View Post
I am not here to defend the big box, but sometimes local codes have somewhat arbitrary provisions banning certain things. Check out Section 9-511 here:

http://www.villageofshorewood.org/ve...89BF94D%7D.PDF

Drafted by an inspector, probably in response to one yahoo's work, reviewed by counsel who knows nothing about electricity or electric codes, and passed by a board that knows even less.
If you are referring to this:

"All appliance outlets installed in the kitchen or dining areas shall be computed at 650 watts per outlet with no more than three double receptacles permitted on a 20-ampere circuit. Clock outlets used for support, as well as for the power supply, may be installed on a lighting circuit."

while it exceeds NEC it's IMO not unreasonable, loads like this



are common in modern kitchens, and I frequently encounter them at home and even condo inspections.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: