3 way switch, ceiling fan, and remote.. DOH!

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-20-08, 08:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Newnan, Ga - ATL
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3 way switch, ceiling fan, and remote.. DOH!

so, I'm replacing an existing ceiling fan. On one wall, we have 2 switches; one for light, one for fan. On the other wall, it's a single switch for the light. All have the additional red wire in the switch

I take the old fan down, it's like the others in my house: blk/blk, wht/wht, red/blue. I noticed on this new fan, since there's a remote that it came with, it's different. There's no connection for the red. I simply wire nut and cover it in electrical tape. I hook the others up as stated in instructions. blk/blk, wht/wht wires from outlet box going to the remote kit then on from there.

Is this a problem? The remote does all the work. All works fine. I have the breaker off now as it is late and I didn't want to do anything else until daylight, and after I got some good advice
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-21-08, 04:51 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
There is an electronic module in the fan fixture that does all the thinking and switching for you. All you have to do is wire the module black/black and white/white. I would use the single fan switch rather than the three way switch for the light, since the three ways could be inadvertently turned off and the remote rendered useless until it is turned on. You probably have a remote holder that can be installed over the switch you use, thereby keeping that switch turned on all the time and making the remote the master switch.
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-08, 06:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,103
Received 133 Votes on 119 Posts
If you original fan control was a switch you are good. The switch should be left on at all times or the remote won't work. If the original fan control was a speed control either bypass it for permanent power on or replace it with a regular switch.
 
  #4  
Old 01-21-08, 08:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Newnan, Ga - ATL
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks guys, that's what I thought. I think what threw me off was when I turned it on, I had CFL's in the light fixture. I wasn't aware that the remote kit (that it came with) was also a dimmer. The lights were flickering like crazy! Guess it had me concerned

thanks again
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: