Voltage question - at the risk of sounding very stupid.

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-22-08, 11:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Voltage question - at the risk of sounding very stupid.

I have a fan that came off a computer cabinet which is rated to move a very high volume of air. This fan, shape wise, is PERFECT to install in my attic as a vent fan. The only problem is that the fan is for 240 volts, and my house of course only has 120 volts.

Someone told me that it would be safe to plug the fan into 120 volts, as it would just spin slower. Moving less air would be desirable given the high capacity of the fan in quesiton.

I want to make sure this is SAFE (as in no fire hazard), before I even try it.

Anybody ?.

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-22-08, 11:51 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

You might check on the motor some you can set to run on 220V or 110V. But if not DONT TRY AND RUN IT ON 110V.
 
  #3  
Old 01-22-08, 11:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Ed Imeduc View Post
You might check on the motor some you can set to run on 220V or 110V. But if not DONT TRY AND RUN IT ON 110V.
There is no selector switch for voltage.
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-08, 12:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your house has 240 volt. You may not knopw how to wire for it, but it has 240 volts.
 
  #5  
Old 01-22-08, 05:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by racraft View Post
Your house has 240 volt. You may not knopw how to wire for it, but it has 240 volts.
I understand, but let me ask the original question again......

A fan is rated for 240.....you plug into 120.....it spins slower....is there any safety risk by doing this ?.......

I know if you go the other way and plug 120 into 240 you'll burn whatever it is......
 
  #6  
Old 01-22-08, 08:05 PM
1Geniere's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What do you consider risk?

An undervoltaged motor will have less torque, it may not start, draw maximum current, and eventually trip the breaker... or the windings may melt their insulation, short out and trip the breaker.

Or nothing noticible will happen but the motor will NOT run at rated rpm and therefore draw more current and run warmer; normal wear and tear will accelerate.

If its a listed device, it would not have been tested for 240vac operation.

What do you consider risk?
 
  #7  
Old 01-23-08, 06:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 1Geniere View Post
What do you consider risk?

An undervoltaged motor will have less torque, it may not start, draw maximum current, and eventually trip the breaker... or the windings may melt their insulation, short out and trip the breaker.

Or nothing noticible will happen but the motor will NOT run at rated rpm and therefore draw more current and run warmer; normal wear and tear will accelerate.

If its a listed device, it would not have been tested for 240vac operation.

What do you consider risk?





Thanks for the detailed answer. Exactly what I needed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: