Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

adding to 2 motion light and a receptacle, and a dishwasher...some code question

adding to 2 motion light and a receptacle, and a dishwasher...some code question

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-26-08, 08:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
adding to 2 motion light and a receptacle, and a dishwasher...some code question

Ok i want to add 2 motion lights at each end of my house (2) (after being broken into i am determined to deter it this time,) And a receptacle im going to run conduit from the *surface mounted receptacle* to the attic (ending the conduit once in the attic)then one of the motion then to the other ( in a series), now my question it do i have to run conduit through the attic or can i lay the wire of the trusses like the rest of my wire. I am adding the motion lights on the fasia or soffit ( i guess thats what its called) i will be adding the light boxes too. All i am going to run on the receptacle is a 16 channel camera junction box.

Also wiring for a dishwasher i am going to run 12/2 wire from the breaker box to the dishwasher which will be a dedicated circuit. i have to remove my dry wall. (water damaged) Woul i have to run (NM) from the dishwasher to the attic?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-27-08, 06:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, question A- if the wiring in the attic is stapled to the joists it needs to have furring strips protecting it on both sides. Check it out .

B- Could you not go up from the basement with the 12/2? I assume this a 1st floor kitchen .

You have the right idea with 12/2 and dedicated circuit however.
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-08, 06:41 PM
sparky480's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 47
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you can run nm cable parallel to and on framing members, the only time you need to protect it in the attic is within 6 feet of scuttle hole or where subject to svere physical damage like storage spaces
Originally Posted by burkej62 View Post
Ok, question A- if the wiring in the attic is stapled to the joists it needs to have furring strips protecting it on both sides. Check it out .

B- Could you not go up from the basement with the 12/2? I assume this a 1st floor kitchen .

You have the right idea with 12/2 and dedicated circuit however.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: