Spent $488 on an Electrician...Why did he do this....???

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-01-08, 09:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Spent $488 on an Electrician...Why did he do this....???

So, I hired a guy to swap out my old 3-wire cable for my new electric stove and to put in 4-wire cable. It cost me $488 dollars (ouch!).

I looked at the work and it all seemed fine; so I paid the guy and he left. Then, later that day, I noticed that he had disconnected a cable that was running in my garage. The cable is a 220v that ends with a 3-prong plug, it was completely exposed - and I have no idea what I'd use it for - but why would he disconnect that when I hired him to run a new cable for my stove in my Kitchen.

Again - I don't know why you'd want a 3-prong plug in your garage; but ummm, I had one, and now I don't.

Is that against code or something - or should I call him up and ask him what is going on?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-01-08, 09:13 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Call and ask for an explanation. Are you sure it wasn't already disconnected. One reason he may have disconnected it was it was piggy-backed on the stove circuit which it shouldn't have been. May have been there for a welder.
 
  #3  
Old 02-01-08, 09:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
Call and ask for an explanation. Are you sure it wasn't already disconnected. One reason he may have disconnected it was it was piggy-backed on the stove circuit which it shouldn't have been. May have been there for a welder.
I'll call - I just feel silly because I signed off on the work without even noticing it
 
  #4  
Old 02-01-08, 11:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 259
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Three prong in the garage would be for a welder, large air compressor, woodworking equipment, possibly an idiot planning on backfeeding the panel.

Did he re-use the cable, breaker, what? I'm comp-fused.
 
  #5  
Old 02-01-08, 12:50 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
I'd bet that the garage receptacle was double-lugged on the stove breaker which would have been an illegal installation made by a prior homeowner.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: