Undercabinet light wiring, your suggestions

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-05-08, 05:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 555
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Undercabinet light wiring, your suggestions

I'm remodeling my kitchen and I want to add undercabinet lighting. I purchased cabinets with light rails, the extra wood extension to help hide lights. How do you suggest connecting from light to light and how to power them in the most inconspiculus way.

When I have the cabinets out I can remove drywall and drill studs to string the wire. How would you suggest bringing the wires out thru the wall to the light? How would you power them without seeing a plug hanging down?

Also, what is your favorite, LED, flourescent, halogen, xenon? I think that I would have to go with Xenon or halogen if I want to dim them.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-05-08, 07:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just leave the NM sticking out at a height that will be in the light rail area. When you hang the cabinets, drill a hole in the light rail and run it into the fixture.

I prefer to run separate wires from the switch to each fixture location but you could loop from the fixture location closest to the switch to the next and so on.
 
  #3  
Old 02-06-08, 10:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am too lazy to look now, but somebody makes dimmable LED undercabinet lighting. I printed their cutsheet quite a while ago. This was architectural spec stuff so it would be quite expensive, I am sure.
 
  #4  
Old 02-07-08, 12:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just remind you make sure you dont hook up the undercabent light to small appalince circuit the code do not allow it.

you can hook up the undercabent light to the genral lighting circuit.

but there one thing you have to becarefull if you slect a low voltage lighting two thing it will crop up a bit if not carefull one.,, Low voltage is very senstive with voltage drop and second thing is transformer location [ depending how big it is ] can mount it above the upper cabent or put it in basement and you can not use the plain zip cord it must be romax wire and sized propely for voltage drop.

Merci, Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: