New Clothes Dryer Circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-09-08, 09:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New Clothes Dryer Circuit

I'm getting different info depending on which wire gauge chart I look at... 50Amp 220v clothes dryer circuit, approx 30 foot run, should I use 6 gauge or 4 gauge wire? One chart shows 6 gauge good up to 45amps?
TY wingnut
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-09-08, 09:56 AM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If youre starting from "SCRATCH" ...

The cost difference between 4 and 6 at 30 feet is negligible.

For the few extra bucks, use the larger choice, and leave a "WINDOW" for later expansion.

There are more variables such as "Derating, voltage drop, termination temp, and the like , that will affect the outcome, so unless you want to do the math, Stick with the "Keep it simple" principal.
 
  #3  
Old 02-09-08, 10:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,694
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
50 amp clothes dryer? Is this an industrial machine? Home clothes dryers only ever use 30 amp circuits.
 
  #4  
Old 02-09-08, 12:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
here's my existing setup... 50A double pole breaker in the box, 6GA wire to my receptacle, but the receptacle is a 30A dryer receptacle.
We've relocated the dryer further away and need a longer wire for new location. Can I use a longer piece of 6GA or 4GA with the 30A recpt and the 50A breaker? Don't know why a 50 was used instead of a 30, but that's what I have. I don't see any safety issues since nothing drawing more than 30A can be plugged into the recpt.

And confirm that I do need to replace the entire run - no splices in a 220v line, correct?
wingnut
 
  #5  
Old 02-09-08, 12:38 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dump the 50 a breaker........Use what is required for the dryer.


Think about it for a minute.......

30 amp dryer will burn before the 50 amp breaker trips...

just a guess , but there was a range, or larger equipment originally using the existing outlet.

I'm not sure of the "SPLICE" issue, so wait for a pro.

However, if the breaker is downsized to 30 amps, 6 gauge would be more than adequate.
 
  #6  
Old 02-09-08, 01:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since you are extending the current circuit, you need to start from the panel, if the existing is not a 4 wire circuit. You can use #10 or #8, with a 30A breaker. A clothes dryer uses a 120/240V circuit, which nowadays must have separate ground/neutral, except in a grandfathered situation.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: