DC to AC room deodorizers

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-14-08, 12:23 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DC to AC room deodorizers

I am trying to convert a DC powered room deodorizer to AC power so when I put the unit behind my Air Conditioner filter, it will spritz intermittently according to my settings. I bought a 3V converter/transformer to do that for 2 double C battery operated Smart/Final deodorizer but cant' seem to get it to work. It there a way to do this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-14-08, 12:37 PM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That should have worked; you must have gotten something wired wrong?
 
  #3  
Old 02-14-08, 04:21 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: (near) Boise, ID
Posts: 441
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I suspect that the AC adaptor doesn't have enough current to power the air freshener.

If it does, I would solder the AC adaptor wires directly to the same place the battery holder connects to, being sure to get the polarity right.

Here's a trick I have used (temporarily): take the batteries and cover the ends with electrical tape. Insert the batteries, then insert wires between the (taped) batteries and the terminals in the battery compartment. The idea is to use the batteries as a spacer to hold the wires in place.
 
  #4  
Old 02-14-08, 04:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is the converter output AC or DC?
 
  #5  
Old 02-14-08, 06:22 PM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Strategery View Post
I suspect that the AC adaptor doesn't have enough current to power the air freshener.
It pretty much has has to. Let's say this little adapter is capable of 100mA. I think that's reasonable. A C battery might have 8000mAh capacity, so two of them 16000mAh total. If the freshener drew 100mA you would be buying new batteries every 6.7 days.
 
  #6  
Old 02-15-08, 03:38 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,233
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Core, series-wired batts have the same amp-hours as a single battery.

Also, the unit may indeed suck quite a bit more than 100ma when it's actually operating. Most of the ones I've seen pulse periodically and are dormant most of the time. Some have heaters that vaporize the liquid. Others have fans to distribute the vapor. Either can add quite a bit more than 100ma to the mix.
 
  #7  
Old 02-15-08, 08:20 AM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oops, quite correct about the Ah for batteries in series. Silly me.

And I did think about the duty factor before posting, but didn't consider that there could be a heater in there. This is after all a timed spritz he said, not a scented oil type thing. Never had one of these timed ones in my hands to take apart. On the commercials they look pretty simplistic.
 
  #8  
Old 02-15-08, 11:27 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have actually done this before and it worked. I am using a DC 3V, 300mA converter/transformer. This is analog and not digital so it should work. There is no heater and no fan.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: