Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Ac/dc Adapter (wall Wart) As Benchtop Power Supply, Cheap mans's power supply

Old 02-17-08, 05:11 AM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I am an absolute newbie.

I am just beginning to play around with some projects, trying to learn about electronics (been messing around with a mcu). I would like to make a power supply for my breadboard. A few weeks back I was reading a tutorial on building a bench top power supply that had a lot of cautionary info on how not to kill yourself. Being a newbie I heeded this advice and steered clear of that kind of project. Then I came across the wall wart idea (see this link http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/pre...-1-PowerSupply), it seemed like a good approach.

A nearby store sells used AC/DC adapters for very little (some as cheap as a $1) - wide assortment of voltage and current output. I was thinking that could use the adapter as a power supply for my breadboard. Thought that the wall wart set up would save some battery use (currently using a 9 volt) and would be fun/instructional to build. Thought that power supply could be used for low voltage/low current circuits that would otherwise be using 9 volt battery. I researched this on the net and have found some projects that do just this...with voltage regulator, etc...(see for example http://www.instructables.com/id/STGS44CF3SYP07P/).

I thought it best to ask around first, however, and to get some advice on whether this was a safe thing to be messing with. My question is, is this safe to do. The idea of playing around with AC concerns me...I am hoping that it is relatively safe as I will be connecting the DC side to breadboard.

Old 02-17-08, 05:48 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 189 Votes on 169 Posts