oil filled electric baseboard heat,

Old 03-01-08, 04:54 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
oil filled electric baseboard heat,

I am thinking of replacing my oil heat in the apartment in my house with electric oil filled baseboard. There is currently about 50 ft. of baseboard now and its on a separate burner in my house, so if I change to electric I can eliminate 1 of the boilers. I have just been told I need to replace the current boiler and would rather not. Any one have any ideas about his form of heating and would I have to upgrade my current electric service. I am not sure what service I have now.

Thanks for any help...

Sponsored Links
Old 03-01-08, 09:07 PM
I'm no expert in this area by any means, but here are a few thoughts:

-Please indicate your location, house age, and explain what you mean by apartment.

-A (properly running) heating system that burns fuel rather than using electricity is generally cheaper and more efficient (power plants are 30-45% efficient, furnaces 80-95%) to operate. The exception is if you have cheap electricity where you live or have a heat pump.

-If you live where the winters are mild, don't plan on living in your house long, or do not usually use the space you are going to heat, it may be worth higher heating bills to offset lower installation costs.

-You said that you had multiple boilers. Is there enough capacity to heat this area with another boiler?

-There may be tax incentives to replace an inefficient boiler and/or insulate.

-This may be a good time to consider natural gas if it's available.

-I'm sure boilers aren't cheap, but it may be cheaper to stay with your current heating system than to change to electric.

-The electric service for your house was probably sized based on having the oil heat. If you have an older house, it is probably overloaded already. You should expect minor, and probably major electrical work.