Switch removal

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-08-08, 08:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switch removal

I have a switch on my main wall of my living room that controls the outlets on the adjacent wall. I am taking down part of the wall that the switch is on and would like to eliminate the switch altogether. I really don't need the switch to control the outlets just as long as are on all the time. My question is how do I get rid of the switch while still keeping the outlets hot all of the time.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-08-08, 09:05 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Code won't allow the removal of the switch if it is the only switch in the room that will operate an outlet (receptacle or light). If you have a fan/light operated by another switch it will be doable. Do you have additional lighting switching in that room?
 
  #3  
Old 03-08-08, 09:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unfortunately, no. It is the only switch in the room and controls one of the two outlets on the adjacent wall. So, by code, I need to keep that switch there in order to operate that one outlet? If that is the case, I suppose I will have to relocate the switch rather than eliminate it.
 
  #4  
Old 03-08-08, 10:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,046
Received 115 Votes on 105 Posts
Code requires a switch at the entrance to a room that will turn on a light. That light can be plugged into a receptacle or it can be a fixture mounted on the ceiling or wall.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: