should I be worried

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-11-08, 05:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
should I be worried

I just bought a house which is a split level with a sub-basement. I found out that there is no ground on two receptacles in the sub-basement. Should I be worried or is it just me? Any info. would be appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-11-08, 06:05 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
explain no ground.....

No bare wire in the boxes, 3 prong receptacles that test as "Ungrounded" , 2 prong receptacles that were never grounded to begin with?

Being a "Sub Basement" gfci protection is recommended, unfinished space would be REQUIRED under current electrical code.....Take a look at this.

http://forum.doityourself.com/showthread.php?t=337325
 
  #3  
Old 03-11-08, 06:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for replying back. This is a 3 prong receptacle that tests no ground in a finished sub-basement. Any suggestions would be great and very helpful.
 
  #4  
Old 03-11-08, 06:43 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Turn the power off to the affected circuits, Remove the receptacles and see if there is a bare or green wire in the box....

Since the GFCI at minimum is a good Idea,if not required, I would suggest it is an amicable solution to 3 prong receptacles, where no ground has been provided.
 
  #5  
Old 03-11-08, 06:46 PM
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Spunaway
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If only 2 plugs are open ground in the whole house...

#1 There is a bad connection upstream.

#2 There is Knob and Tube or 2 wire romex feeding those outlets.

Can you figure out if you have K&T or two wire romex?

No matter what it is it is a code voilation to have 3 prongs on ungrounded circuit unless fed by GFI upstream.
 
  #6  
Old 03-11-08, 08:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This installation was already there when I moved in. If I replaced both receptacles with gfci receptacles, would this be safe and legal?
 
  #7  
Old 03-11-08, 08:16 PM
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Spunaway
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Safer=yes
Legal=yes

If you can troubleshoot it fix it that would be ideal. Otherwise I wouldnt loose any sleep over it with GFIs in place.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: