Replace Old Dimmer Switch With New One

Old 03-12-08, 08:44 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replace Old Dimmer Switch With New One

For starters, I am not an electrician by any stretch of the imagination. But, I have wired GFCI outlets and single-pole switches. So, I am not a complete greenhorn.

My problem is this:

I have a bank of recessed lights controlled by 2 dimmer switches. One switch in the same room and one switch in another. My lights have been acting funny (flickering rapidly) for some time and finally went out completely. I tried the obvious in switching the light bulbs which did not work. So, I assumed the switch used predominately was bad.

I wanted to replace the dimmer with a standard 3-way switch but after seeing the mass of wires in my junction box (this box has 5 dimmers and 1 flip switch) I lost confidence in my "line-load" ability. I thought the easiest route would be to replace the dimmer switch with a new one. My confusion came when I noticed the old switch only had 3 wires and no ground all on one side. My new switch has 4 wires (2 on top and 2 on bottom). I tried using common sense in determining which wires went where. I connected the "single" wire from the old switch with the single wire next to the ground on the new switch. Likewise, I connected the two top wires (which came out of the same hole on the switch) from the old switch with the remaining wires on the new one.

Am I correct in guessing that the single black wire from the old switch was the "hot" and should have been connected to the single black on the bottom of the new switch? The reason I ask this is, after I connected the new switch up, the lights still did not work, meaning I either hooked it up wrong or the other switch is bad. If the latter is the case I want to insure I connect the new one up correctly.

Thanks. Hope this wasn't too confusing.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-12-08, 10:44 AM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts