Making current electrical wires longer?

Old 03-12-08, 08:35 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Making current electrical wires longer?

I have an unfinished room that I want to finish, but the electrical wires that runs to most of the house run through that room and to finish the room I need to make those wires longer so I can hide them in the wall/ceiling. I'm thinking of doing it with junction boxes, but that means 2 junction boxes per line and I don't think it's a very good way of doing what I need done.
Has anyone else had this problem? How do I do this right, short of rerunning all of the wires?

Thank you in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-12-08, 09:06 PM
I'm not an expert by any means and I don't have any experience doing this, but here are a few ideas that come to mind:

-I would avoid installing junction boxes; you will have to keep them accessible, and every splice has a potential for failure.

-Install a subpanel closer to the load centers of your home and run the circuits to that (or run lots of cables and install a really big junction box).

-If your house has old wiring, you might want to consider replacing and upgrading it before you close the walls & ceiling of this room.

-Install a dropped ceiling.

-Frame a (smaller) finished area, including a lower ceiling (code permitting) that avoids or minimizes the need to move the wires.

Old 03-12-08, 10:19 PM
I'm curious--what kind of room is this that has all your house
wires running thru that are not in the studs or joists...

Old 03-12-08, 10:47 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You can have multiple circuits in one Jbox so if the wires are close together you could use one large box. Maybe you could design in a closet at the place it was needed so it could remain accessible but normally hidden from view.

Old 03-12-08, 10:49 PM
I assume you are talking about a basement. If this is the case you pretty much only have options.