A couple questions about electrical meter...

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-15-08, 01:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A couple questions about electrical meter...

I'd like to put my panel in a specific location, but its about 15ft. away from where the meter can be. Do I have to pipe between the meter and 200A panel? It seems it would be hard to pipe something that big inside of a wall to a recessed panel, but on the other hand I doubt they make a cable that large for the purpose. I'm confused. Has anyone had any experience with this? Also, do I have to wait till the outside wall has been sided before attatching my meter? Or can I just fasten it to the plywood? Thanks for the help....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-15-08, 01:44 AM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wait for a pro's opinion, but You may be able to use SER cable without conduit....
 
  #3  
Old 03-15-08, 03:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by lbartowski View Post
I'd like to put my panel in a specific location, but its about 15ft. away from where the meter can be. Do I have to pipe between the meter and 200A panel? It seems it would be hard to pipe something that big inside of a wall to a recessed panel, but on the other hand I doubt they make a cable that large for the purpose. I'm confused. Has anyone had any experience with this? Also, do I have to wait till the outside wall has been sided before attatching my meter? Or can I just fasten it to the plywood? Thanks for the help....

well it can be run in without the pipe BUT please check with your local inspector for more details becasue i do not know what state or area you are in becuse there are quite few diffrent rules to apply to this.

typically normally the meter set up is genrally done by electrician due safety reason and also some other code issue as well.

Merci, Marc
 
  #4  
Old 03-15-08, 07:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,806
Received 85 Votes on 78 Posts
At that distance the cable would need to run outside the house or you need the main disconnect at the meter. The unfused power cable can not run that far inside the house.
 
  #5  
Old 03-15-08, 07:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,366
Received 10 Votes on 10 Posts
those are unfused conductors

Inspectors give a dim view of unnecessary exposure of these conductors inside a dwelling. A big issue with the panel can cause these conductors to "burn down".
It so happens that I had to run about 15' inside my home from meter to panel, but about 12' of that was put inside the poured slab, so I had 2 or 3" of concrete over the pvc conduit. The code gives allowance for concrete encasement, though that really isn't an option inside a 2x4 stud wall.
 
  #6  
Old 03-15-08, 07:36 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
You will need to check local code and power company rules, because the service entrance is usually locally regulated.

In my area, you would need to use conduit from the meter to the main panel. It would need to run on the outside surface of the house and turn into the wall with an LB fitting. Also the meter and mast must be fastened to 3/4 treated plywood which can be covered by siding if you prefer.
 
  #7  
Old 03-15-08, 12:27 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Dislocating the panel from the area of the meter base, will probably require you to install a main disconnect type meter base, and as the others said, check with your local authorities and the POCO to find out what they will require.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: