100 Amp Circuit Breaker Load Center Square D QO

Old 03-17-08, 11:14 PM
E
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
100 Amp Circuit Breaker Load Center Square D QO

My wife and I just purchased our first home and the seller changed the previous circuit breaker. From what I understand, it was a circuit breaker that was over 20 years old. I am not an electrician and have a rudimentary knowledge of electricity. We are planning on just running the usual appliances, tv washer dryer fridge dishwasher. Will this new circuit breaker be able to handle these appliances with the amount of amps or will I have to eventually get a bigger circuit breaker?

Thanks

Old 03-17-08, 11:24 PM
Breaker.....or Panel...?

The main breaker is sized for your incoming service wires. A larger "Breaker" would require a wiring upgrade from your Power Company.

When I bought my house, It was explained as this...
Heat...electric or gas? Hot water electric or gas? Stove ..Electric or gas..?If you answered electric to more than 1 of the previous questions ...100 amps was going to be "TIGHT".

Best advice, be prepared for a service upgrade. If you need it, you'll be prepared. If you dont, youll be pleasantly surprised.

Old 03-18-08, 08:49 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
A 100A service is plenty enough for many households. How many square feet is the house? Do you have a spa or welder? Do you have any or all of the following electric appliances: water heater, air conditioner, heat pump, baseboard heaters, stove, oven, cloths dryer?

Old 03-18-08, 11:20 AM
F
100 amp service is plenty for small to med size home but it pretty much depending on what kind of applanice and like range , dryer and heating system and if have central air or windowshaker [ window or thruwall a/c]

if you will plan to add a spa or oversized hottub etc you may want to upsize too far in future.