Wiring in 240 30 amp

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-27-08, 07:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring in 240 30 amp

Wiring in a 240 30 AMP receptacle to my panel. In my panel can I put the 2 pole 30 amp breaker in any 2 slots or does it have to be in specific slots. I have a GE TMC2410CCA 100 amp load center.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-27-08, 08:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: orange county
Posts: 285
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile

Any two slots will automatically provide 240v to your c/b. Some electricians like to put the 240v c/br's near the main c/b (generally this would be near the top).
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-08, 08:31 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,773
Received 33 Votes on 32 Posts
Any newer panel will work as expected as long as the breaker is a true double pole and not a "skinny" tandem breaker. Older panels you need to watch out for.

You can always test it after connecting the breaker by measuring the voltage between the two hots, you should get 240v.
 
  #4  
Old 03-27-08, 10:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The GE breakers are little more trickier than most of other breakers but however the 1 inch double pole verison this type of breaker you really have to pay attetion very closely other wise if you landed at wrong slot you will not get full 240 volts for your equminent as it needed.

i rather use the full double pole width anyway less headahce and issue with it.

there is few older breaker manufactors done the same thing as well i know FPE done that before maybe one or two other done it as well.

However there are some breaker boxes will not take twinners so double check the label on the breaker box i know there are quite few will listed not to take twinner verison at all.


Merci, Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: