Curious

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-27-08, 07:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Curious

Why does a 240 30,40, 50 etc amp breaker use 3 wire + gnd and a 240 15 amp breaker use 2 wires + gnd? Is it the amperage, the devices being plugged in?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-27-08, 08:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,883
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
A 240 volt breaker use only two wires. Whether the circuit use two or three wires depends on the load requirements.
A 240 volt motor only needs two wires.
A 240 volt piece of machinery that has control circuits might need a 240/120 volt supply.
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-08, 08:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: orange county
Posts: 285
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool

A 240v c/b feeding a sub-panel generally (but not always) has two hots, a neutral and a ground. If you desire, require 120v power as well as 240v, that is.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: