built a garage need electrical help

Old 03-30-08, 05:41 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
built a garage need electrical help

i built a 24x24 garage probally about 120 feet away from my meter but currently i have my 200a service maxed out i was told i can upgrade my service but then i would have to replace all the wiring and everything to much trouble.. the pole is in between the current meter and my garage is there a way to put the meter on the pole and just upgrade my service replacing the wiring on the pole.. i only need enough power to run about a 30a load continus, lights, and a welder everynow and then so maybe a 60-80a service would do.. adding another meter to the garage seems to exspensive because i was told i would have to pay 2 membership fee's and have 2 bills thats just to much

whats going to be the best route for me? and i live in TN

Old 03-30-08, 05:54 PM
G
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
I'm not a professional wire bender, but my first question would be - are you actually maxed out or are there no available breaker spaces left in your box. My 200 amp box is maxed with breakers, but I'd bet we seldom draw over 100 amps at a time. I'm considering a 100 amp sub panel for the future.

If your situation is similar, it's something to think about.

Old 03-30-08, 06:37 PM
F
The only legal way to detrmed if you service is maxed out or not is do the load demand you can goggle the " load demand " on it and from there you can able fill in the info what it be done.

most subpanel in garage normally useally are 60 amp size but once a while larger one if serious hobbyist working in the garage.

many place you can actally increase the service size like 300 ~400 amp size 320 A service basiclly a resdentail verison of 400amp service but you can have 300 amp service like 200 A for house and 100 A to garage with single meter set up but however to change meter size this have to be done by electrician for safety reason and code issues as well.

Merci,Marc