Putting a switch where it might get splashed with water?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-19-08, 06:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Putting a switch where it might get splashed with water?

Hi,

This forum is awesome. I have a quick question about switch locations. I am putting a switch in a bathroom. The switch will power the vent/light/heater assembly. That assemly is the only unit on the circuit. So the power goes box --> switch --> light/heater/vent.

On the other side of the drywall where the switch will go is my main water line and the main line shutoff. There is also a drain valve (looks like what I'd plug a hose into) there for when I winterize the house. Am I allowed to put a switch near such a valve? It's the most sensible place to put it. What's the safest way to protect the switch?

Thanks
Nathan
 

Last edited by nswelton; 04-19-08 at 07:18 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-19-08, 07:07 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
One of the pros will be by shortly.

I dont believe there is any problem "Code wise" with such an Install, Provided none of the wiring touches any of the piping... Common sense will dictate not to hold the switch handle while draining the pipes.........

It may be a good Idea to GFCI protect the circuit, considering "The nature of the beast".
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-08, 02:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As long the water valve is below of the switch you are installing there is no issue with that.

but however with the switch box you may have some issue with the room in the box itself due you mention light/heat/fan setup most of my time my SOP is use the two gang box that useally take care the issue with the room in the junction box but however very rare i do use single gang the only time i will used that if you have very deep well single gang box i think the deepest one is marked 22 or 24 cu inches i am not sure which one [ it about almost 3.5 inch deep btw in case you want to know how deep it is ]

Merci,Marc
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-08, 01:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: (near) Boise, ID
Posts: 442
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'd make sure there is space in the wall (no pipe in the way) where you are actually placing the J-box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: