electrician replaced 3/0 with 2/0

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-08, 02:27 PM
wgc
wgc is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 362
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
electrician replaced 3/0 with 2/0

We've been having trouble with a poor connection somewhere in the service connection and just had an electrician do some work that included replacing the cable from the meter to the main panel. We have 200A service. However I noticed the existing cable was 3/0 copper while the new cable was 2/0 copper, after he left. Is that the right size? Did I lose any capacity? I saw an unrelated thread that mentioned a change in the 2008 code that might change this: would it?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-08, 03:04 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2/0 is larger cable than 3/0 so it was a upgrade
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-08, 05:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mango man View Post
2/0 is larger cable than 3/0 so it was a upgrade


Mango man sorry to step on you but that is backward the 3/0 is larger than 2/0 is

however to the OP the 2/0 cu is legal size for 200 amp service entrance cable [ this is only size they will allowed in resdentail area if this is in commercal that diffrent story you need much larger than that.]

Merci,Marc
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-08, 06:17 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
And making the necessary bends with 3/0 would be a bear considering the limited space available in most meter bases and panels. You're good to go.
 
  #5  
Old 04-20-08, 06:27 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well I usually work in 19 -24 ga I always thought it continued down is larger

(BTW we should all correct misposts , I'm glad you stepped in Frenchy )
 
  #6  
Old 04-20-08, 06:41 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I always thought it continued down is larger
Usually...but you cant go past 0.......2/0 is actually "00", 3/0 is "000"

#3,#2,#1, #1/0, #2/0......etc.
 
  #7  
Old 04-20-08, 06:50 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Unclediezel View Post
Usually...but you cant go past 0.......2/0 is actually "00", 3/0 is "000"

#3,#2,#1, #1/0, #2/0......etc.
makes sense

thanks unclediezel I was just going to try to Google it
 
  #8  
Old 04-20-08, 07:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No problem we glad we can help you in the right step before it get all misundestood here

Merci,Marc
 
  #9  
Old 04-22-08, 06:21 PM
wgc
wgc is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 362
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks

Thank you all for confirming the smaller cable is ok. Actually, you're very right about the difficulty of bending the cable. Whoever installed it long ago took a disturbingly large notch out of the joist, that I probably need to do something about sometime. This electrician had it a bit easier with the smaller cable, but I wouldn't call it easy, not by a long shot.

I even made it tougher on him ... the electricians out there will probably hate this but I had him put a loop on both ends of the cable to allow slack for replacing the meter base and the panel, sometime in the future.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: