Another outlet queston...

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-14-08, 03:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Location: South Bay Area.
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Another outlet queston...

I just moved into my new house and am now finding out just how much of an inconvenience it is having three hole outlets for only half of the house. How can I change the old two hole outlets to the three hole ones?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-14-08, 04:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 4,219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since it does not have all 3 prong outlets, I have to assume an older house??? The existing 3 prong outlets may not be illegal. If there is not a complete ground system that goes back to the main panel, you cannot install 3 prong outlets to replace 2 prong, without installing a grounding conductor. There must be a ground connection!!! That said, buy an inexpensive test plug and check the 3 prong outlets. If they check OK(not showing missing ground), you should be able to replace the old 2 prong with 3 prong outlets.
 
  #3  
Old 05-14-08, 06:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,814
Received 87 Votes on 80 Posts
If there is no ground present in the box to connect to the new receptacles or you can instll GFCI receptacles. The GFCI will not actually have a ground but they are legal and safe.
 
  #4  
Old 05-14-08, 06:42 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 66
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is exactly the project I am working on right now. If I may make a suggestion, if you are remodeling room by room, you shoud consider switching out the old wires if they are knob and tube instead of just adding a ground. You'll be surprised how easy parts of the job can be, and how difficult others can. I have found every person on this site to be extraordinarily helpful in answering my questions. The more you ask before you start a projec, the less likeley you are to kill yourself doing it.
 
  #5  
Old 05-14-08, 07:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Location: South Bay Area.
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hmm ok thanks allot for all your advice and input. I'll be checking all of the plugs with three holes to see what the grounding situation is tomorrow. Again, thanks for the help!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: