fusebox question

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-21-08, 03:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
fusebox question

On my main box there is a serperate 100 amp box that went bad that has my dryer and stove and hot water tank hooked up to it. Can i just buy another little 100 amp box and hook it up in the same place. THANKS
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-21-08, 03:09 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
You'll have to describe the situation in more detail than that. Is the 100A panel a subpanel fed from the main panel? How did it "go bad"? Is it actually a fuse box with glass fuses or a breaker panel? Is there any way you can take a photo of the panel(s) and post a link for us to see?
 
  #3  
Old 05-21-08, 03:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the 100 amp runs off the main panel and it has four buss fuses and four glass fuses. Where the main wire hooks in to it is real loose. And i was wondering if i can replace it with a hundred amp breaker box thanks
 
  #4  
Old 05-21-08, 05:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you talking about this one ??






or this one ??






Let us know.

Merci,Marc
 
  #5  
Old 05-21-08, 05:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes it is something like the top one and i was going to switch it with a hundred amp breaker box if i can the old one says 100 amp wadsworth thanks
 
  #6  
Old 05-21-08, 06:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It can be done if the the condtions met;

• SE [ service entrance cable ] must be #2 or larger

• Have meter box rated for 100 amp or more

• Have do a load demand to make sure you are ok with the exsting size you have there. [ goggle " load demand " there are few of them you can use. this is the only legal way to check the service size ]


To change over from old style fuse box to breaker box is little above the average DIY skill and yes you will have to get ahold of POCO to cut the power off when you replace the old fuse box to breaker box.

[ Keep in your mind many place will useally ask for permit anytime you replace old fuse box to breaker box ]

And when going from old fuse box to breaker box they are useally larger than old fuse box so you may not have much issue with the wires if all of them are comming above the old fuse box.

Normally if done right it will take a serious skilled DIY pretty good part of day but for Electrician it will useally a brezze useally half day or less depending on the set up.

[ I done this all the time so majorty of the time useally half day unless oddball set up.]

Merci,Marc
 
  #7  
Old 05-21-08, 07:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i cant just unhook the wires from the main box that goes to the little box and remove the little box and put a new little box one there and run the little box of the bigger on like it is now thanks
 
  #8  
Old 05-21-08, 07:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So,,, you are talking about a subpanel box right ?? not the main box ?

when you pull the main fuse do that subpanel box go dead also ?

if so you may want to trace back where the wire hook up there.

Merci,Marc
 
  #9  
Old 05-21-08, 08:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yea the sub panel thanks
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: