Mysterious loss of power to detached garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-25-08, 05:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Chicago suburbs
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mysterious loss of power to detached garage

Everything worked fine in my detached garage yesterday, and then today nothing did. No lights, no garage door opener, no power outlet. There was no digging or anything that might have cut any wires.

I took out the 15 amp fuse and tried it in another 15 amp socket and it worked fine, so it's not the fuse itself. I also tried cleaning out the fuse socket for the garage with a rag, but that didn't work either. I tried replacing the fuse just in case, but no luck.

Is there anything else I can do myself to try to restore power to the garage short of calling an electrician to come try to figure it out?

Thanks,

-Korey
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-25-08, 05:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you follow the wire or conduit from the fuse panel to the affected items? Look for a GFCI receptacle with test and reset buttons.

Beyond that troubleshooting will require a meter or at least a neon tester, neither of which are expensive, but you would want to figure out if your hot or neutral are open at various points.
 
  #3  
Old 05-25-08, 05:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Chicago suburbs
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is definitely not a GFCI outlet in the garage or anywhere between the fuse box and the garage. But the wires all run underground between the house and the garage, so I am hoping there might be something else I can try short of digging everything up...
 
  #4  
Old 05-25-08, 05:56 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
kingsmurf

Korey...yes theres methods to determine where the open lies
. .but since I do NOT know your equipment or experience level. . . .I would suggest that this is NOT DIY level work

but do check the following:

* the garage is also controlled by an fuse or breaker in
the house ?

* tell us what your experience /equipment level is? . .
I would not want to detail ep by step checks you
are completly unfamiliar with

* do you have Wiggie? digi-meter? . .battery powered
voltage sensor?

could be something quite simple . .but I personally would need to know more detail . .to advise you
 
  #5  
Old 05-25-08, 06:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,033
Received 113 Votes on 103 Posts
Do you have any test equipment?. If you do then open the first box where the wire comes into the garage and measure the voltage between hot-neutral and hot-groundk, preferably not with a digital meter. It could give false readings.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: