How to mount under eave spotlight?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-25-08, 10:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 1,155
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to mount under eave spotlight?

The guy putting siding on my new addition told me that the general contractor was supposed to get him electrical boxes for this but did not. so he had to put on the soffit without putting in the box. He said it will be very difficult to do now unless you remove the soffit. I am p*ssed at my general contractor as he could care less about things. SO is it going to be very difficult to put undereave lighting now? Could you just do it like a ceiling light that you add later and use a box that has a rod that screws and expands up against the trusses?

thanks bill
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-26-08, 12:14 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, or even an old-work box with ears if it isn't too heavy. The devil is in running the wires. Depending on the pitch of the roof and construction of the overhang you may have trouble getting to the overhang with the wire. You may have to run a fish tape from the box hole up into the attic but there may be obstructions at the wall.

I have in extreme cases cut a hole to fit a soffit vent near where I was wiring to get room to fish the wire. The soffit vent hole of course just was to give me working room and by using a soffit vent rather then a patch to cover the hole it looked better.
 
  #3  
Old 05-26-08, 06:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 1,155
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks. Just checked and running wire should not be hard. It is 4/12 rafter roof with vaulted ceiling inside and I can easily see down the eave from inside. Since it is not finished, I shouldn't have any problems.
 
  #4  
Old 05-26-08, 10:26 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,984
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
You may be able to unzip the soffit to mount your boxes.

Make sure that they are flush with the finished soffit.

I would not use a old work box to hang a fixture from the soffit material alone. It may hold for awhile but will sag later. I would try to cut the soffit near a truss and use one of these.
 
  #5  
Old 05-26-08, 10:54 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I would not use a old work box to hang a fixture from the soffit material alone. It may hold for awhile but will sag later. I
Good point. I keep forgetting how crappy most new construction is.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: