Need help wiring a motor starter

Old 06-29-08, 09:20 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need help wiring a motor starter

Hello all, I'm new to this sort of forum so I'm not sure I'm in the right place to ask this question but here goes.

I am converting a piece of woodworking machinery from 3ph to single and need help wiring a 3ph magnetic contactor to work on single phase.
I am fairly competent as I have worked as a residential/commercial electrician for a short while but this is a little beyond my experience.
Can anyone help or point me in the right direction?
Thanks in advance!

Jonathan

Old 06-29-08, 10:20 AM
K
Originally Posted by JonathanJoseph
Hello all, I'm new to this sort of forum so I'm not sure I'm in the right place to ask this question but here goes.

I am converting a piece of woodworking machinery from 3ph to single and need help wiring a 3ph magnetic contactor to work on single phase.
I am fairly competent as I have worked as a residential/commercial electrician for a short while but this is a little beyond my experience.
Can anyone help or point me in the right direction?
Thanks in advance!

Jonathan
Your going to either have to replace the motor with single phase or use a phase converter.

Old 06-29-08, 12:19 PM
J
I'm sorry I wasn't very clear. I am installing a new 5hp single phase motor in place of the old 3ph motor. I also have a new three phase starter. 240v
I know there is a way to wire the starter to use single phase. It involves running at least one jumper "somewhere" I've been scouring the web but can't find anything. The old starter actually had instructions inside the cover to wire it for single phase but it is very different from the new one.
I found one source that said to connect power to L1 and L2 and run a jumper from T2 to L3 and go from T1 and T3 to the motor. The theory there was that some contactors need power on all three legs for some reason for the coil to operate. That doesn't work though.