Rewire A/C System

Old 06-01-08, 01:03 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rewire A/C System

I am fairly good with working on electrical work around my home. I am not a licensed electrician, but have enough sense what to do and not do when it comes to electrical safety.

With that said, I will soon have my main central AC system replaced - I chose a Carrier 21 seer Infinity system. My current system is on the west side of my house jammed in between pool equipment and another condensing unit (I have two systems) and faces the sunlight most of the day. The air handler/furnace is in my attic about 65 ft from the condenser.

I want to relocate the condensing unit to the east side of the house to provide more breathing room for the condensing unit and will put it closer to the air handler in the attic (now only be about 25 ft away). But, I will need to have electricity run from the circuit panel to the new location.

Here are my questions related to wiring (I plan to re-wire this myself):
1) What gauge wire should I run for this distance?
2) The wire will be run in the attic for approx 70 ft. to the breaker box - any concerns I should be aware of running this wire?
3) What type/size of disconnect box should I use oustide?
4) What size circuit should I install in the breaker box? I don't have any of the electrical specs for the Carrier unit.
Edit/Delete Message

Sponsored Links
Old 06-01-08, 01:20 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
Before anyone can give you a correct answer you need all the data from the unit nameplate.

Most times a 30 amp unfused disconnect is fine, but if the unit says MAX FUSE you would need a fused disconnect.

Old 06-01-08, 01:23 PM
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
Without the electrical specifications no one can advise you on what is needed.