Romex and 1/2" conduit

Old 06-04-08, 12:10 AM
H
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Romex and 1/2" conduit

Let me preface this by saying I'm not an electrician and, as my username states, I'm new to home-ownership. I've got some electrical experience with changing outlets and adding new circuits to the box but nothing totally advanced... the typical "city-boy" doing the work due myself, not having the money to hire a professional.

Here's my situation. I recently bought 14/2 G indoor Romex for an indoor project. Now, what I want to do is add a 2-bulb flood light and a 15a GFCI outlet outside. These two new electrical items will be protected from direct snow and rain by a "roof", under which I keep my pool accessories, my BBQ, and a few other items. This area basically looks like, if you were to imagine, an awning connected to the house... no walls, just a roof. But it's a real roof, made with 2x4s, plywood and roofing shingles.

I want to make this add look clean, so I bought 20 feet of 1/2" ENT conduit, with a coupler and a 90 degree pull-thru elbow, and a wet-location box for the flood light and one for the GFCI.

My questions are: 1. Can I use this conduit outside, under this roof, if I seal all the possible openings to the weather/moisture? 2. I understand that you cannot use indoor romex in outdoor conduit, due to moisture that can build-up in the paper around the wires, BUT, can I use the romex in the conduit, IF I STRIP the plastic romex jacket off and remove all the paper wrapping, essentially making it like single strand THWN? Again, I'm trying to save money by using what I have at hand, but of course, I don't want to do something that can start a fire. Can anyone send some answers my way? Thank you!

Old 06-04-08, 12:35 AM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No. The wire in the Romex is not rated as THHN or THWN.

Old 06-04-08, 04:33 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts