Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

3-phase isolation transformer in single phase application?

Old 06-27-08, 10:39 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Here is a question you don't see every day . . . can I use a three-phase isolation transformer in a single-phase application?

First off, I am not an electrician, otherwise I would not need to ask this question! Eventually, I will hire an electrician to come in and help me with the installation.

I am going to have a separate circuit installed off my home's breaker box just for my audio system and home recording studio. The load on the circuit will never exceed 3kVA, even at peaks, and the average will be a lot less than that. (Inrush current for the isolation transformer itself may be a lot higher than 30A, but I'll install a slow-start device.)

The 1:1 isolation transformer will be installed between the breaker box and the equipment to be protected.

Normally I would simply use a single-phase transformer; however, I found a really beautifully built 12kVA 3-phase 1:1 isolation transformer being sold used at a VERY CHEAP price. I thought to myself, "Hmm, can I use that in a single-phase application?" I'm aware that the capacity would be 1/3 of 12kVA but that is more than enough for my needs.

Thing is, I'm not even sure if it can be done. You'd think you could Google something like this but Google brings up nothing.

Through Google I found links stating plainly that a 3-phase EMI/RFI filter can be used in a single-phase application. I found links stating plainly that a 3-phase line reactor can be used in a single-phase application. And I even got so far as locating a link stating plainly that a 3-phase transformer can be assembled from three identical single-phase transformers. BUT I couldn't find any link discussing whether a 3-phase isolation transformer can be used in a single-phase application.