Receptacle question


  #1  
Old 06-28-08, 11:27 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Receptacle question

I am in the process of installing new switches and receptacles.
Just upgrading to the flat designer ones.
I have an outlet that is controlled by a switch. Just the top outlet is controlled and want it to stay that way. Plus I know that is code. I'm in CA.
The receptacle has 2 white coming in, 2 black and 1 red.
The white and black are plug in type and are connected to the bottom receptacle. The red is connected to the top and controlled by the switch.
My new outlets only have 1 hole for the wires for each outlet.

Do I wrap the 2 white around the bottom silver screw, the 2 black around the bottom brass screw and the red around the top brass screw?

Also my switches are not grounded, the wires are in the box, so I will nut it and make a piggyback and ground to switch. Is that correct?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 06-28-08, 12:54 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,364
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Majorty of the dupex receptcales do have two screws on each side the silver side is for white wire only one wire can land at each screw only

Now for the brass side {hot} side If you still have the old receptale with you make a note how the small brass tab between the two brass screws for switched receptales break the brass tab off { do not break the silver side off at all }

If you have pretty deep box then you can make a pigtail connection that is a common way also.

The red wire can go to top brass screw while the black wire that part you will have to make a pigtail on it then hook up to the bottom brass screw after you make sure the tab is broken off so you can have split circuit but again i will remind do not break the silver side at all otherwise you will run into major issue with it.

The white side you can land each white wire for each screw.


Now for the switch.,,

Is your switch box is plastic just run the ground wire to the switch but if metal you have to do both switch and box for ground wire.

But if you have three way switch please make a note which is a common screw [ typically a dark coloured screw or marked " common "

Merci,Marc
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-08, 01:12 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks. There currently is no white-neutral to the top so I just put one to top and one to bottom?

I did install a set of 3-way and they aren't working right.
Should the red be to top on one and bottom on the other.
They both work but not the way they should.
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-08, 01:37 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,364
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by goblueeagle
Thanks. There currently is no white-neutral to the top so I just put one to top and one to bottom?
If you don't mind expain little more on this one ? I am kinda lost there for a min.,, Thanks

Originally Posted by goblueeagle
I did install a set of 3-way and they aren't working right.
Should the red be to top on one and bottom on the other.
They both work but not the way they should.

Oh man ., ok what you have to do is check both threeway switches and find the common screw usealy a dark colour screw Typically most 3 ways useally have black wire as common in most case the trallaver screws [ light brass colours ] that part I am not worry but the main moot point is the common one if you have both switch in same arrangement then you have just move one set wire around to get it right [ there is total of 9 tries to get it right ] once you get the common wire matched up on BOTH switches the rest will fall in place pretty fast.

Merci,Marc
 
  #5  
Old 06-28-08, 01:47 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What I mean on the outlet is both white are currently connected to the bottom. So I just connect one to each screw, one to bottom and one to top.
Or don't the screws really apply that way.

Yeah I think I swapped 2 wire. I kept them seperate so I knew which side so I think it's just the one side on the first one I did.
 
  #6  
Old 06-28-08, 01:57 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,364
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Ahh ok now we are getting there now .,,


Ok for the recepetale for white wire [ silver screws ] one on each one that will be fine.

As for the three way switch you are very close just swap one of the wires then you should be able get it there right.

Merci,Marc
 
  #7  
Old 06-28-08, 02:01 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you very much! I bought a basic electrical book but ya know sometimes they just don't tell everything.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: