lamppost

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-29-08, 07:22 AM
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
lamppost

Does a lamp post need to be GFCI protected. Irunning 3 receptacles and a lamppost to my front yard....I know the 3 recpt's have to be GFCI protected...Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-29-08, 08:38 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,946
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
The lamp post would not be required to be GFI protected. Any receptacles, if wired, on the lamp post would be required to be protected.
 
  #3  
Old 06-29-08, 01:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I rather have the lamp post be GFCI'ed for good reason

The cable i useally see they are buried 12 inch or less in some case

Second thing is that someone will use the lamppost for christmas deceration and use the socket adpepter to plug in christmas light.

That my moot point why I rather have them on GFCI.

Merci,Marc
 
  #4  
Old 06-29-08, 02:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFCI is commonly used on lamp posts, not primarily to protect the lamp itself, but to protect the cable leading to the lamp. Code allows a shallower burial depth for this cable if it is GFCI protected, and it's usually cheaper to provide the GFCI than the dig the trench deeper.

GFCI would also be required if the lamp manufacturer says so.

Regardless of the codes, as Marc says, GFCI is a good idea. But in some cases, it is not mandatory by code.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: