adding receptacle and switch/light

Old 07-02-08, 10:52 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
adding receptacle and switch/light

Hey, newbie here.

So I've been reading posts here for a few hours, but can't find my specific situation mentioned, so I thought I'd post it and ask for some advice.

I have a circuit with 2 receptacles on it, and that's all.

So I want to add a new receptacle, as well as a switch to control a new light fixture.

The addition would take place in the middle of the run, and the outlet would not be switched to the switch. The switch would only control the light.

So I was thinking that it would go something like this:

outlet 1 (first original outlet) would lead out to new box

in box, wire would be pigtailed

I would then connect one black to the switch and the other to the receptacle.

One white would go from pigtail to receptacle.

I would drop a new wire down from the ceiling for the light fixture into the new box, and tie the white and remaining white from the pigtail together.

The wire leading out to the end of run receptacle would then attach to the new receptacle as would any other receptacle.

all grounds tied together

Does this sound like it makes sense?

Sponsored Links
Old 07-03-08, 01:15 AM
Before I can comment on this one what room this set up will be used for ??

the reason why due you mention one switch box which you will have duplex receptale and single pole switch there it will varies depending on location if that area will reqired a GFCI or not.

Merci,Marc

Old 07-03-08, 06:19 AM
hey,
thanks for replying.

To answer your question: The first outlet of the two that are on the circuit already had a GFCI, so I think I'm all set there.

The new outlet wouldn't be reserved for anything specific - it's really just to have an outlet in a more convenient location in the room. The switch would go to a new pendant light.