Lost Circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-06-08, 07:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lost Circuit

I have a circuit that serves the master bath, several outlets (one is GFCI) and my freezer. I have replaced the GFCI with no results. There is apparently an open circuit somewhere. Dois anyone have an idea on how to locate the problem? No breaker blew but I think I know which one it is. There are two which I cannot identify what they control. Both have wires connected and have 120 VAC on the load side of the breaker. This is a manufactured home that has been substantially customized.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-06-08, 07:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 296
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, while you've got your panel cover off, take your meter and run down every breaker in your panel and make sure you've got 120v, just to eliminate the fact that it could be a different breaker.

Ok so now thats done, and if that ok, i'd kill the power to the circuit in question....then go from outlet to outlet, chances are you're going to find the problem there. If there are any outlets that are "back-stabbed", the wires simply pushed in the back, take them out, and wrap the wire around the outlet screw instead. Many, many times I've found bad connections with back-stabbed outlets. Give that a shot, let us know, gl.
 
  #3  
Old 07-06-08, 08:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You either have an open hot or an open neutral. A simple $8 outlet tester will tell you immediately which one. That will cut your search in half.
 
  #4  
Old 07-06-08, 09:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: orange county
Posts: 285
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question

Where do you not have power? The freezer? The masterbathroom? The Gfi? The other outlets? The entire circuit? Is the Gfi wired Line and load?
 

Last edited by sidecutter; 07-06-08 at 09:56 PM. Reason: misspelling
  #5  
Old 07-06-08, 10:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It pretty common for manufactered and mobile home to used back stabbed repceptales and backstabbed switches so if you find them move them to the screw setup.

Now the other possiblty if they have pigtailed wires somecase the wirenuts or crimp sleeve can get loosen over the time and can cause failure as well.

Also check the luminaire juction box that is one other common location you will find partail failure as well.

Merci,Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: