Wiring elec motor for 220v..

Old 07-16-08, 11:56 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring elec motor for 220v..

Hi... I have a post over at (Tools, Sharpening and Power Machinery) Entitled (New Air Compressor not performing).
If you want to catch up on what this is about....
I've had one reply in 24hrs...
The gist of the post is,me asking about my new Air Compressor,and it seemingly running much slower than the 3450 rpm,that it's rated to run at.. The particulars can be found at the post area.
I'm writing here about the one reply I received,trying to get some idea of verification on the members reply...
I stated on the original post that the motor is wired for 110v @ 15 amp.
The motor can be wired for 220v.
The member replied that maybe,the motor has been wired for 220v.
I could see this possibly happening via human error,from the factory.
I'm not an electrician,and wouldn't know what I was looking at after removing the cover plate to check the wiring scheme of things.
My post here is to confirm the idea that this is possible.

What I mean is....
Is it possible that the motor would run at all if it were wired for 220v,and connected to 110v ???
It does seem to me that the motor is running at about half of the rated rpm.
If you are familiar with what I mean by (a slow runner) air compressor.
By this I mean in the days of old,most good quality air compressor motors,ran at about 1800 or a bit faster..
Lately (last twenty) years most have gone to much faster motor speeds.
I've owned small compressors that turned at higher rpm's in the 3000 range,and this one is rated for 3450....
I can tell ya... it isn't running at that speed..not even close.
I can actually see the spokes in the small pulley (on the motor) turning...
If it were running at 3450,it would be just a blur.
All of the spec particulars of the compressor,are on the other post..
I'm here just to try and find out if the motor would run,albeit slow if it were miswired for 220v....