Wiring a welder circuit

Old 07-17-08, 06:35 AM
I
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wiring a welder circuit

Hello
This is my first post here and I hope that you folks can help me. I have a fair degree of electrical aptitude but I am kinda stumped with how to go about one of my projects. I have a 200amp GE main panel in my garage. I have appx 6 open slots and I already bought a 60 amp double breaker to install so I can wire up an old lincoln buzzbox welder. Installing in the panel isnt a problem, the wire size is. Nowhere can I find 4/3 romex cable as I believe that this is the minimun that I need. The welder, btw, is rated 240V/50amp...I just want a little heavier breaker just in case....
I read somewhere that 6awg THHN cable might work? I am a little confused as LOWES doesnt sell anything in the 4/3 romex venue. Can someone here tell me what wire options I am looking at?

Thanks a bunch!

Ben

Old 07-17-08, 07:05 AM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
You don't need 3 conductor for a "pure" 240v circuit. If the distance isn't far you should be OK with 6-2.

Old 07-17-08, 07:09 AM
F
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts
For a welder you can use smaller conductor sizes than would normally be allowed. Assuming that particular welder has a duty cycle of 40% (it may be lower) #8 conductors would be sufficient.

Further, you do not need three current-carrying conductors in the supply, but two current-carrying plus an equipment ground.

Old 07-17-08, 08:07 AM
F
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Useally the arc welder have it own rules to deal with conductor size and with common resdential " buzzbox " typically use #8 THHN/THWN or UF or NM and you only need two hot conductor and equmient ground.

A quick side note if you use 8-2w/g NM or UF for some reason make sure you remarked the white conductor so you will know it is a hot conductor instead of netural.

Merci,Marc

Old 07-17-08, 08:35 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 45 Upvotes on 43 Posts