AC voltage testing

Old 07-21-08, 08:22 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AC voltage testing

I just tested a few random receptacles and discovered that the multimeter ac voltage readings are consistently 138-144. These are generally on 20 AMP receptacles on 12 gauge wire, from what I can tell so far.

Im not an electrician but I think of voltage as the "pressure" on a system. 20amp/125 V receptacles seem to be the norm in this house but Im still concerned that the "pressure" is way too high.

Should I think of lowering the AMPs on the circuit panel down to 15. I haven't tested any 15amp circuits yet but I will today.

This is all on a 200amp circuit panel (why so high? Im not sure but it was done within last few years, I'm the lucky new owner).

Please tell me my family and I can sleep soundly tonight.
Any response is greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-21-08, 08:35 AM
Get the diffrent voltmeter to make sure the reading is the same as the first voltmeter is sometime some digtail voltmeter may not read correct voltage espcally when the battery in the digtal meter is not strong { near dead batteries } will give a funny reading there.

Myself I always carry two diffrent voltmeter to verify it in case one not reading correct.

If you can ask one of your neghbor to borrow their voltmeter that will be fine and compare the reading or go to the big box and get new voltmeter.

Now 138~144 volts that is way too much do you have any 240 volts device running now ? if not turn all the 240 volts devices off and read the voltage again if still high call the POCO NOW don't wait too long sound like you have either too high a voltage or semiopen netual which both are very dangerous and that need to be taken care now.

The POCO useally don't charge anything comming out to take care their end and they will let you know what the situation.

Merci,Marc

POCO = Power Company

Old 07-21-08, 08:48 AM
Group Moderator
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts