10 amp breaker to 15 amp

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-21-08, 08:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
10 amp breaker to 15 amp

Silly Question:

I've got several 10 amp breakers in my fuse box and I was told that I should change them to 15 amp breakers, this would avoid some of the flickering I get when multiple devices are running at the same time, most of the breakers are for outlets and lights.

Will this really make a difference? I know it's just a matter of shutting off the main and popping the existing 10 amp breakers out and replacing them with 15 amps; but, I'm not really sure if this would be cost justified to replace eight 10 amp breakers in my house.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-21-08, 09:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
You can never, ever, ever simply change breakers to a larger size without first verifying if your circuit wiring can handle it. And 99% of the time it cannot. Violate this rule and you risk burning your house down.

Have you really got 10-amp breakers (10-amp breakers are incredibly rare)? Do you have breakers or fuses (you mentioned a "fuse box)?

Furthermore, a larger breaker wouldn't help a flickering problem anyway. The flickering is due to the wiring, not the breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-08, 03:58 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,522
Likes Received: 7
Where do you live? In the US, 10A breakers are rare. If you're elsewhere in the world, let us know, there are a couple here who are knowledgeable about other countries' power systems.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes