Breaker Broken?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-03-08, 09:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Breaker Broken?

Hi, I have a 2 family home. Although the house has room for 2 meters and has 2 boxes, I only have one meter. Recently, I rented out the upstairs. The power has been going off up there for no reason, nothing imparticular is instantly blowing the breaker. To reset the power, I have to reset a 50 amp breaker in the 1st box. This apparently, supplies all power to the second box. My question is: The breaker that blows feels loose, could it need replacing? Also, it is a 50 amp breaker. Should this be upgraded possibly to handle a larger load? there is a hot tub that is running off the second panel on a 50 as well as your normal household amounts.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-03-08, 11:44 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Important things first: you cannot replace that 50-amp breaker with something larger without creating a serious risk of fire. Don't even think about it.

The breaker should not be "loose", although I'm not sure how loose it is. Breakers can go bad, but it is pretty rare.

Note that some appliances use a lot more power than you might think. Vacuum cleaners, air conditioners, hair dryers, treadmills, tanning beds, and space heaters use a lot more power than most people think. The hot tub all by itself can use most of that 50-amp power.

But if you are convinced that the breaker is tripping when nothing significant is running (i.e., when the hot tub hasn't been on for several days), then you might try replacing the breaker. Make sure you use the same size breaker (50 amps) and make sure it is the correct make and model for the panel it is in. You might also want to have an electrician inspect the bus. Be aware that replacing a breaker can expose you to significant hazards, even if you shut the main breaker off. So don't do it unless you are absolutely sure you know what you're doing.

If the breaker is tripping when the hot tub is on or has been recently used, then you probably need to run the hot tub off the main panel instead of the subpanel, or you need a new panel specifically for the hot tub. Note that hot tubs usually have a panel devoted exclusively for that.
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-08, 03:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,571
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Breaker

What brand panel box? Is it Federal Pacific?
 
  #4  
Old 08-03-08, 04:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: orange county
Posts: 285
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Make sure to inspect the bus-bar after removing the c/b. Certain brands can become severly pitted (sometimes close to a literal melt down.) Many zinsco bus-bars are made of a very soft alloy (aluminun maybe??) and are prone to severe damage from arcing. Federal Pacific we all know are fire traps and should be replaced a.s.a.p.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: