subpanel bonding???

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-09-08, 04:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
subpanel bonding???

good morning, I'm installing a subpanel today, problem is this, my main panel is the type with shared neutral/ground bar. should i bond the subpanel once installed? my guess is yes but thats why i'm asking the professionals because i want to do it right.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-09-08, 05:18 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern Georgia
Posts: 486
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bond the subpanel to ground, but not to neutral. Need a 4 conductor feeder for sub, 2 hot, 1 neutral and ground. Neutral and ground are seperated in the sub, neutral is isolated, and ground is bonded to can.
 
  #3  
Old 08-09-08, 06:55 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
The neutral and ground are connected only in the main panel. You run a four-wire feeder to the subpanel (black,red,white,bare). At the subpanel the neutral and ground bars are isolated. This may require you to purchase an add-on ground bar kit for the subpanel and to remove the bonding screw and jumper from the neutral bus. The ground bar is connected to the subpanel box with machine screws; the neutral bus should be isolated from the box with plastic spacers or mounts (provided with panel).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: