installing cooktop with aluminum wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-21-08, 09:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
installing cooktop with aluminum wire

I'm building a 'kitchenette' for my elderly Ma and I bought a used cooktop at a Habitat for Humanity store. When I stripped the wires I realized they are aluminum. If I use the right connectors to splice to the copper wiring in the house, will this be a safe installation? I'm grateful for any info and advice and curious to know why GE would build the cooktop with aluminum in the first place.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-21-08, 10:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Are they really aluminum or tined copper. Try scraping the wire.
 
  #3  
Old 08-22-08, 10:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You're right! Tinned copper. So... Would ordinary wire nut connections be the thing? Many thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 08-22-08, 10:55 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Yes, jumbo wirenuts will work fine with tinned copper. Just make sure to check the package to make sure the nut is rated for #8s or #6s depending on the AWG of wiring to your range.
 
  #5  
Old 08-22-08, 10:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What is the idea of tinned copper?... if you have time to further educate me.
 
  #6  
Old 08-22-08, 10:57 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, wire nuts are OK.

---------------------------
 
  #7  
Old 08-22-08, 11:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,392
Received 12 Votes on 12 Posts
Originally Posted by gulleyj View Post
What is the idea of tinned copper?... if you have time to further educate me.
Reduced corrosion, especially with heat.
 
  #8  
Old 08-23-08, 02:11 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The main reason why for tinned copper due the rubber coating on the insulating materal and with bare natrual copper with rubber wire it will wreck hovac so that why they used the tin on it to prevent the rubber insulating mateals break down.

They use done the same thing with main building wire for many years the most modern wires are not tinned any more due better materals to use.

However there is tinned copper around for specal appaction.

Merci,Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: