no lights

Old 08-24-08, 01:00 AM
K
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no lights

I'm new to this..pls bear with me
I changed a faulty 2 way light switch in my bathroom, and
now I have no lights in my bedroom, 2nd washroom nor my daughter's bedroom. All the plugs(outlets) work fine. I have double checked all the breakers...help

Old 08-24-08, 04:08 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Votes on 8 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Since there is no "2way" switch, I am assuming you replaced a single pole single throw (SPST) regular light switch. How many wires were there to the switch? Did you replace the wires exactly like they came off? Is there an adjacent receptacle to this switch? Sorry for all the questions, but we have to draw pictures for our brains to work.

Old 08-24-08, 06:37 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 148 Votes on 131 Posts
Do the bedroom lights work when the bathroom switch is on?

Old 08-24-08, 07:25 AM
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Had a customer once with an almost identical problem except it was a neighbor that did her the favor of changing the light switch. The previous installer instead of pigtailing certain wires used both the back stab and screws as a way to connect together two wires. Neighbor when he swapped the switch out didn't realize it was absolutely necessary to keep the wires paired together. Just put them on randomly.

Old 08-24-08, 08:02 AM
C
light switch