Wireless relay switching?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-28-08, 01:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wireless relay switching?

Hello all,
I want to switch a 24v coil solenoid valve which is approx 350meters from a pump power pack. Normally a cable would be run to achieve this but i would like to know if a wireless option could be possible.
Its an industrial area, plastics industry.
Just putting it out there, ask any question, all will be answered.

Regards and many thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-28-08, 02:56 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
What kind of reliability are you looking for?
 
  #3  
Old 08-28-08, 04:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
reply

Its for a vacuum relief valve so as reliable as possible. The running of a cable will be awful so trying to get options.
Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 08-28-08, 06:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,451
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
try remotecontroltech.com

I've not used them, but it appears to be what you need. I'll assume you already have a source of power at the valve..
 
  #5  
Old 08-29-08, 05:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 47
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This appears to be a problem solved by a professional in this area. When talking batteries or two wires that are generally DC, PCBOSS will be able to get any train set running or if nothing else have it run on battery(s). Contact him, he is your best bet on any remote control operations. Real voltage will have to be handled by someone else. french277 is a good option. Need a little more info to help if we are talking workable vial solution.
 
  #6  
Old 08-30-08, 04:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
reply

There is power availible in yhe area.
 
  #7  
Old 08-30-08, 08:03 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,836
Received 41 Votes on 40 Posts
I don't have a specific answer, but remember that RF control is inherently non-reliable, even more so in an industrial type environment. Buildings, weather conditions, moving vehicles, etc. all can render an RF remote sporadic. Running a wire is certainly the most reliable approach.
 
  #8  
Old 08-30-08, 11:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
350 Metre {1148 feet} that is pretty long strech with some of the RF and in Industrail evroment area it pretty hard to get good signal for the RF to work

The other opton is get a automatic vaccum releif valve which it don't need any power and it is self regulating if not the other option I know you will hate to heard this but hardwired it.

Merci,Marc
 
  #9  
Old 08-31-08, 02:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wireless is certainly doable, but to do it right the relay has to be supervised, which means it has to have two-way communication so it can indicate to an operator if it fails or loses wireless communication. (Supervising is a good idea with any relay systems -- wired or wireless.)

The cost will outweigh the man-hours and a spool of wire it will take to pull the cable.

Have you given thought to the DC voltage drop across 300 meters of cable?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: