Meter Socket Ground

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-03-08, 11:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Meter Socket Ground

Installing a new 200 amp electrical service in my shop. Iíve installed the panel and meter socket, waiting for the electrical company to run the new feed. The question that I have is on the meter socket (Cutler Hammer w/bypass). On this meter socket there is a location for a ground that other meter sockets that I have looked at (without the bypass) didnít have. I ran my ground (awg 6 stranded copper) from my panel to two ground rods eight feet apart. What is the proper method for running a ground for the meter socket? Should the ground be ran from the meter socket to the grounding rods or between the panel and grounding rods, or both?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-03-08, 12:51 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
This depends on the policy of your local power company -- they often have different requirements. I see that you are in Wisconsin; we have at least one moderator who is an electrician in Wisconsin. If you post your city and/or power company he may be able to give you specific advice.
 
  #3  
Old 09-03-08, 03:10 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Yeah, let's wait on the northern boys to check in after work. I also question using stranded for a grounding conductor. We have some municipalities that require a continuous, no breaks, grounding conductor from the grounding rod, through the meter base up to the weatherhead in addition to the SE, go figure.
 
  #4  
Old 09-03-08, 04:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll go with the solid ground also.
If we ever ran a stranded ground to a rod, you could count on failing the inspection.
Have you passed already?
If not, you might want to check with the locals and make sure that they will approve it.
The concern seems to be that the strands will corrode to the point that they break off and you can eventually lose your ground altogether.
If you are grounding the neutral at your main service, you shouldn't need a ground in the meter socket.
Some POCOs don't want grounds in the meter socket at all.
 
  #5  
Old 09-03-08, 04:45 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You guys are having trouble with stranded for a GEC? If you'all have some code section mandating solid, I would be very interested.

All I ever use is stranded. When you start getting into larger services, you can;t get solid wire big enough.

With the way houses are going, even the resi guys will have to use larger wire so those inspectors better get used to stranded wire.

dezwit posts:

If you are grounding the neutral at your main service, you shouldn't need a ground in the meter socket.
Some POCOs don't want grounds in the meter socket at all.
Most of the POCO's in my are will not allow a grounding conductor (independent of the neutral) in the meter base.

There is no need for it in a grounded service.

Here is a pdf from Duke energy. The specifically state the ground is not to be bonded to the meter base. They are one of many.http://www.duke-energy.com/pdfs/Sing...ase_Wiring.pdf
 
  #6  
Old 09-03-08, 06:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree that there is no Code rule.
In fact, 250.6 says it can be solid or stranded.
Just an unwritten rule that we adhere to.
No big deal really.
 
  #7  
Old 09-03-08, 07:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Let me chime in due I am in state of Wisconsin and tell me what POCO are you are on serving now ??

There are about 8 or more diffrent regulations each have it own regulations but however there one thing is common thruout all the POCO's in the state is No Ground wire in the meter sockets

If you are on Wisconsin Pubic service or Wis Engery or Duke or Attel { sp } they have website with regulations about hook up the meter if you have issue with it please let me know I can able post it up for you.

If you are on CO-OP system let me know the regulations are little tricky but overall they should be simuair to other POCO's as I mention above.

The other thing that you run the EGC's from the breaker box to ground rods only nothing else

Merci,Marc

Quick side note: I have no issue using straided conductors for grounding purpose it is easier and quicker than # 6 or #4 soild.
 

Last edited by french277V; 09-03-08 at 07:40 PM. Reason: add a note
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: