How to wire up a light using another switch.......

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-04-08, 05:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 31
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to wire up a light using another switch.......

I want to wire up an outdoor light using power from the light switch right next to the outdoor lightswitch.

So, I want to take power from the light switch next to the outdoor light switch and from the outdoor light switch out to the light fixture, easy right? Hold on though, the light switch that I want to take power from is at one end of a two switch for one indoor light setup:

power---------indoor fixture---------switch
|
|
switch-----------outdoor light switch------------outdoor light
(The above is not lining up right, the second switch get's power through the indoor fixture, not from the power source)

I've tried every wire combo I can think of and I can't get the outdoor switch to power the light, one time I wired it up so the outdoor fixture stayed on at half power and wouldn't turn off but that's the only time I ever got the outdoor light to come on.

Here's an image of how the indoor light is wired up:

(pic link isn't working?)

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_zXG_wSyN-b...ch+wire+up.bmp

If someone could take a look at this and advise I would be very grateful.

Thanks,

Tim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-04-08, 05:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The white at the switch is not a neutral. The switch at the door is on a switch loop. Power actually comes in at the light. That is where the real neutral is.If there is a receptacle near by easiest may be to take power from it.
 
  #3  
Old 09-04-08, 08:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As Ray said, the reason none of your approaches work is because you are attempting the impossible. There are lots of ways to make this work with more cable in the wall. Can you run more cable in the wall?
 
  #4  
Old 09-05-08, 03:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 31
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys,

I will look for other ways to get power to the light or the switch.

I had a feeling that I might be trying to do something that can't be done. My supervisor (wife) wanted the two switches for the one light though and I guess that tied my hands.

Thanks again.

Tim
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: