new plugs...no power

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-06-08, 01:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
new plugs...no power

I needed to install a couple of plugs in my furnace room. My source of power was a line coming into the room at a light switch for a ceiling light. I broke this line and tied the two new plugs into a junction box. Pretty basic stuff, blacks together whites together and grounded. When the power was returned it gets a little weird. First there is no power to the new plugs...the existing ceiling light works. Second if I plug in something to the new plugs I installed the existing light does not turn off. I thought this was going to be a walk....what have I done?

Appreciate any help

John
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-06-08, 01:40 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,911
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Could you describe the number of colors and quantities of wires at the switch?

You may have tied into a switch loop.
 
  #3  
Old 09-06-08, 02:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the line I broke is dark gray
 
  #4  
Old 09-06-08, 02:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern Georgia
Posts: 486
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You have tied into a switch loop. There IS POWER in this loop, what is missing is the neutral.
 
  #5  
Old 09-06-08, 04:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how can I resolve with me original intention?....2 extra plugs
 
  #6  
Old 09-06-08, 05:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern Georgia
Posts: 486
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you will have to pull another line from the main/sub panel or another junction box.
 
  #7  
Old 09-07-08, 02:53 AM
mukansamonkey's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 120
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If there is only one pair of wires coming into the switch box, they are just a switch loop. What you would need to do is get your power from either an entirely new set of wires, or else open up the ceiling light, find the unswitched incoming power there, and run a cable from there to your outlets. If your switch box has two pairs of wires, you need to figure out which is incoming power, and which is outgoing (switched) to the light.
 
  #8  
Old 09-07-08, 06:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
appreciate all the help, I'll need to do some reading on a loop
 
  #9  
Old 09-07-08, 08:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IL on 2002 NEC
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Maybe you've already figured this out, but your last reply made it sound like you were still not entirely sure what the situation was, so I'll try to help.

Given the description, I'm ASSUMING that the power source for the light comes into the light junction box. Then to switch the light, there is a 'normal' (black, white, ground) cable ran to the switch - this is the switch loop mentioned earlier. In the light box, the white (neutral) power in is connected to the light's white. The black power in is connected to one of the wires that run to the switch, probably white (re-identified as black). The black of the cable to the switch is connected to the light. At the switch the 'white' is power in, and the black is power out (to the light). Of course, grounds are always connected...

There is a picture of what I am describing here:
http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load...175807818.html
While the topic there is not exactly the same, the picture is.

Rick
 
  #10  
Old 09-08-08, 07:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks Rick....yhink I'll just pick up a black and white from another plug,,,,cheers
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: