control blower from combo recec,switch

Old 09-11-08, 10:37 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
control blower from combo recec,switch

Can i control a blower from a switch which is in the same box as a receptacle? The power comes in to the receptacle also feeds line going on through and around the corner. The other hot wire to the receptacle im using mainly to plug the blower in is just a short line. I want a receptacle and a switch to control the blower in that box.
Can i do that? If so how do i wire it ?,I'm stuck on this one. I have a feeling it involves hotwireing just part of the receptacle. I would appreceatte any help. I'm a very novice electrician as you can tell.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-11-08, 10:45 AM
Sounds easy to do but just need a little more information.

Is this a double box? Can you put a switch and an outlet side by side? If not you can use a combo switch/outlet which has a switch and a single outlet in one space. Either way it can be done. If you use the combo you would only have one switched outlet in that box. Not an always on outlet.

Old 09-11-08, 11:22 AM
controling blower from recectacle and switch

Actually i didnt quite describe it right. The power comes into the box feeds the receptcle.It also feeds the line going around the corner continuing on. Im also getting power from the same source for my switch to control the switch for the blower. the recepticle and swith are side by side in the same box. They are all being run on 12-2 wire. Am i ok and what do i do?

Old 09-11-08, 11:51 AM
ok will try to describe it. Here goes....

First of all I believe you want one of the outlets on the duplex receptacle to be switched and the other to be always on. If this is correct then this is how you do it.

On the side of the outlet where the screws are there is a break off tab between the screws. You want to take a pair of long nose pliers and break this tab off ONLY on the side that has the brass screws. Leave the other side alone.